DUI in Florida

Are There Mandatory Penalties for The 1st Offense of a DUI in Florida?

When people get arrested for a DUI in Florida, they are scared and may have no idea what they’re in for. That’s why it’s so important to call a DUI defense attorney in Florida right away. In fact, it should be the first phone call you make after your arrest. Florida is a bit different from a lot of other states in that they have mandatory penalties, even for your first DUI conviction. These penalties can severely impact your life. They can even affect your career. An experienced DUI defense lawyer may be able to get your charges reduced or even dismissed.

If you’re charged with DUI in Florida, you will be facing fines, a license suspension and even possible jail time. You’ll want a skilled defense attorney by your side.’

Your Penalties Will Depend on Your Blood Alcohol Concentration

Most people know that, in order to be charged with DUI, you need to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or at least .08%. Of course, there are exceptions to this rule. Generally speaking, if the police reasonably believe somebody is impaired, they can be charged with DUI. However, .08 is the legal limit for being arrested for drunk driving. But if your BAC is .15 or higher, you’re going to be facing stiffer penalties than if it is between .08 and .14. Here are some of the mandatory penalties for 1st offense DUI in Florida:

  • License suspension of at least 6 months. It will be 9 months if your BAC was .15 or higher. It will also be 9 months or longer if you have a person under the age of 18 in the car when you get pulled over. If you’re involved in a serious accident, you can lose your license for as long as 5 years.
  • Anyone convicted of DUI for the first time in Florida will be placed on probation for up to one (1) year.
  • If convicted of DUI, you must complete at least 50 hours of community service.
  • For those with a BAC of .15 or higher, or for those with a child in the car, they will be required to install an ignition interlock device on their car.

Contact an Experienced DUI Lawyer in Florida Right Away

As you can see, even if it’s your first DUI, you’ll be facing very serious consequences. That’s why you should call an experienced Florida DUI defense lawyer immediately.

Recent Posts



  • How to Report Drunk Driving
  • Physics of a Car Collision
  • Whiplash Injury Compensation: A Guide